How DDC divides the recorded knowledge?

The Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system is a library classification system that is used to organize and classify books and other materials according to subject matter. The DDC system is based on a hierarchical structure, with 10 main classes at the top and more specific categories and subcategories below them. Each class, category, and subcategory is assigned a unique decimal number, which is used to identify and locate materials within the classification system.

The DDC system divides recorded knowledge into 10 main classes, which are:

  1. Philosophy and psychology
  2. Religion
  3. Social sciences
  4. Language
  5. Pure science
  6. Technology
  7. Arts and recreation
  8. Literature
  9. History and geography
  10. Miscellaneous

Within each main class, there are further subclasses and categories that are used to organize the materials in more detail. For example, within the main class “Pure science,” there are subclasses for specific scientific disciplines such as mathematics, physics, and biology.

The DDC system is designed to be flexible and adaptable, and it is regularly updated and revised to reflect changes in knowledge and subject matter. It is widely used in libraries around the world to organize and classify materials according to subject matter, and it is considered to be an essential tool for organizing and accessing information in libraries.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!