Into how many Classes does UDC divide the whole knowledge?

UDC, or Universal Decimal Classification, is a system for organizing and classifying library materials based on their subject matter. It divides the whole of knowledge into ten main classes, which are known as “divisions.” These divisions are:

  1. Philosophy and psychology
  2. Religion
  3. Sociology
  4. Language and literature
  5. Natural sciences and mathematics
  6. Technology (applied sciences)
  7. Fine arts
  8. Literature (belles-lettres)
  9. History and geography
  10. Recreation and social life

Each of these main classes is further divided into smaller categories or “subdivisions” based on the specific subject matter of the materials being classified. For example, the main class “Technology (applied sciences)” might be divided into subclasses such as “Agriculture,” “Engineering,” and “Medicine.” The subdivisions can then be further divided into more specific categories as needed.

Overall, UDC provides a comprehensive and systematic way of organizing library materials based on their subject matter, allowing library patrons to easily find and access the materials they need.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!