Into how many parts does the LCC divide the whole knowledge?

The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system divides knowledge into 21 main classes, which are further divided into subclasses. The main classes are:

  1. General works
  2. Philosophy, psychology, religion
  3. Social sciences
  4. Language and literature
  5. Science
  6. Technology
  7. Arts and recreation
  8. Literature
  9. History and geography
  10. Education
  11. Law
  12. Military science
  13. Political science
  14. Economics
  15. Commerce
  16. Public administration
  17. Social and public welfare
  18. Medicine
  19. Engineering
  20. Music
  21. Fine arts

Within each main class, there are many subclasses that allow for more specific organization and classification of materials. The LCC system is used by many libraries around the world, particularly in the United States, to organize and classify their materials in a way that makes it easy for patrons to find what they are looking for.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!